ScraperAPI vs ScrapingBee: What One Credit Actually Buys

Last fact-checked: November 8, 2026

Advertising disclosure: we may receive a commission if you sign up through the ScraperAPI † link marked † in this article, at no extra cost to you. Our application to ScrapingBee's affiliate program is pending, so links to ScrapingBee go to the official site. We have not run either service ourselves; every number below comes from the vendors' own pricing and documentation pages. See our Advertising Disclosure.

ScraperAPI and ScrapingBee both sell a scraping API that you pay for in "credits". The credit is the unit on the price list, but the two vendors charge different numbers of credits for the same kind of request, so comparing plan sizes alone is misleading. This page lines up the published credit costs, the plan prices and the free trials, then does the arithmetic for a few request types.

Note on experience: we have not measured success rates, speed or result quality for either service. This is a pricing comparison only. Prices and credit costs were read on November 8, 2026 and can change.

1. Credits per request, as documented

† marks a referral link (see the disclosure above). "Not stated" means the page we read did not say.

Request typeScraperAPI †ScrapingBee
Plain request, no JavaScript rendering1 creditPricing page: requests "start at 1 credit"; the API docs section we read did not give a figure for render_js=false
JavaScript renderingListed as +10 extra per request (no combined total printed on the page)5 credits; rendering is on by default (render_js defaults to true)
Premium proxy, no rendering+10 extra (listed as extra cost)10 credits
Premium proxy + rendering25 credits25 credits
Hardest-site optionultra_premium: 30 credits, or 75 with rendering; paid plans onlystealth_proxy: 75 credits per successful call
Marketplace sites (Amazon, Walmart, eBay)5 credits per requestNot stated in the sections we read
Search engines (Google, Bing)25 credits per requestNot stated in the sections we read
Social media (LinkedIn)30 credits per requestNot stated in the sections we read
Bot-protected sites (Cloudflare, Datadome, PerimeterX, Akamai)+10 credits per scrape when bypassedNot stated in the sections we read
Failed requestsCharged for successful requests (status 200 and 404) and requests cancelled before 70 seconds; other failures not stated as chargedNot stated in general; in Auto-Mode, a request that fails every configuration costs 0 credits

Two things stand out. First, the default differs: a ScrapingBee request is a 5-credit request unless you turn rendering off, while a ScraperAPI request is 1 credit unless you turn rendering on. Second, ScraperAPI documents a domain-based cost table (marketplaces, search engines, social media) and a bot-protection surcharge; for ScrapingBee we did not find equivalent entries in the parts of the docs we read, so do not assume they are the same.

2. Plans and prices

Entry-level plansPrice per monthCreditsConcurrency
ScraperAPI Hobby$49 ($44.10 billed yearly)100,00020 threads
ScraperAPI Startup$149 ($134.10 billed yearly)1,000,00050 threads
ScraperAPI Business$299 ($269.10 billed yearly)3,000,000100 threads
ScrapingBee Hobby$1975,00025 concurrent
ScrapingBee Freelance$49250,00050 concurrent
ScrapingBee Startup$991,000,000100 concurrent
ScrapingBee Business$2493,000,000200 concurrent

Notes from the pages: ScrapingBee prices exclude VAT, and its credits are valid for one month and do not roll over. ScraperAPI's page lists larger plans (up to Advanced at $1,975 per month) and says pay-as-you-go is available from the Scaling plan; the page we read did not state a credit-rollover rule or whether prices include tax. The ScraperAPI page also says geotargeting on the two smallest plans is limited to the US and EU.

3. Price per 1,000 requests, from the published numbers

The figures below are our arithmetic, not vendor claims. We take the plan price, divide by the credit allowance, then multiply by the credit cost of the request type. They compare the roughly $49 plans (ScraperAPI Hobby, ScrapingBee Freelance) and ignore any tax, overage or discount.

Request typeScraperAPI Hobby ($49 / 100,000 credits)ScrapingBee Freelance ($49 / 250,000 credits)
Cost of one credit$0.00049$0.000196
ScraperAPI-style plain request (1 credit)$0.49 per 1,000Not comparable: ScrapingBee's default is 5 credits
ScrapingBee default request (5 credits)Not the same product; ScraperAPI lists rendering as an extra cost$0.98 per 1,000 (50,000 requests per month)
Premium proxy, no rendering (10 credits)$4.90 per 1,000 (if the +10 is read as the full cost; see the note below)$1.96 per 1,000 (25,000 requests per month)
Premium proxy + rendering (25 credits)$12.25 per 1,000 (4,000 requests per month)$4.90 per 1,000 (10,000 requests per month)

Note: ScraperAPI's page lists premium as "+10 extra" on top of the 1-credit base, so a premium request without rendering could be 10 or 11 credits. We show 10 and mark the reading; the 25-credit combination is stated explicitly. The same ambiguity applies to rendering alone, which is why we do not put a price on it.

On the one row where both vendors print the same total (premium proxy with rendering, 25 credits), the arithmetic above gives ScrapingBee Freelance a lower price per request at the roughly $49 tier. That is a pricing statement only. It says nothing about which service gets through a given site more reliably, and the cheaper credit may not stay cheaper if your target needs a more expensive option such as stealth or ultra-premium.

4. Free trials

At the default costs above, 1,000 ScrapingBee credits is 200 default requests (5 credits each), while 1,000 ScraperAPI credits is 1,000 plain requests. For a trial, count requests, not credits.

5. A neutral way to choose

If you are choosing between platforms rather than scraping APIs, see Free Tiers of Web-Data Tools Compared, Web-Data MCP Servers Compared and Make vs Apify.

6. What we could not confirm

Sources (checked November 8, 2026)