Web-Data MCP Servers for AI Agents, Compared
Last fact-checked: November 8, 2026
The Model Context Protocol (MCP) lets an AI client such as Claude Desktop, Cursor or VS Code call external tools. Most web-data vendors now ship an MCP server, so an agent can fetch a page or run a search without you writing glue code. The servers differ in how you connect, how you sign in, and how much of the tool list is documented. This page compares five of them.
Note on experience: we have not run any of these servers in production. Facts below are from the vendor pages linked in the sources, read on November 8, 2026. Where a page did not say, we write "not stated" rather than guess.
1. At a glance
† marks a referral link (see the disclosure above).
| Vendor | Remote endpoint (as documented) | Sign-in | Documented free allowance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apify | https://mcp.apify.com | OAuth in the browser, or a bearer token; docs and Actor-search tools work without a token | Free plan: $5 of platform usage per month (see our walkthrough); the MCP page gives no separate MCP pricing |
| Firecrawl † | https://mcp.firecrawl.dev/v2/mcp-oauth (OAuth) or https://mcp.firecrawl.dev/v2/mcp (API key) | Keyless, browser sign-in, or API key | Keyless use: Search, Scrape and Parse "within daily limits" (numbers not given). Free plan: 1,000 credits per month |
| Bright Data | https://mcp.brightdata.com/mcp?token=YOUR_API_TOKEN (from the project README) | Bright Data API token | 5,000 requests per month, no card to start, no rollover |
| ScraperAPI † | https://mcp.scraperapi.com/mcp, or self-hosted with Python or Docker | Not stated on the page we read | Not stated for MCP; the regular plan is a 7-day, 5,000-credit trial, then 1,000 credits per month |
| ScrapingBee | https://mcp.scrapingbee.com/mcp | API key as the api_key query parameter | Same credits as the underlying API endpoint, no MCP surcharge; 1,000 free credits on the regular trial |
2. Tools each server documents
- Apify: enabled by default are
search-actors,fetch-actor-details,call-actor,apify/rag-web-browser,apify/web-fetch,search-apify-docs,fetch-apify-docsandreport-problem. Optional categories cover Actor runs, datasets, key-value stores, tasks and schedules. The rate limit is stated as up to 30 requests per second per user (HTTP 429 beyond that). - Firecrawl: the tools page lists
firecrawl_scrape,firecrawl_map,firecrawl_search,firecrawl_parse,firecrawl_crawl,firecrawl_check_crawl_status,firecrawl_agent,firecrawl_agent_status,firecrawl_interactandfirecrawl_interact_stop, plus groups for research, developer search, government search and monitors. The old Extract tool is described as deprecated. - Bright Data: 30 tools in total according to the project README, in groups named
scrapers(6),browser(14),geo(2) andadvanced_scraping(3). Every group also includessearch_engine,scrape_as_markdownandask_brightdata_assistant. You can limit the exposed tools withgroupsortoolsparameters to keep the client's context small. - ScraperAPI: the MCP page says it supports ScraperAPI parameters such as geotargeting, premium proxies and JavaScript rendering. It does not list tool names.
- ScrapingBee: HTML tools (
get_page_text,get_page_html,extract_page_data,get_screenshot,get_file), search and AI tools (fast_search,get_google_search_results,ask_chatgpt,ask_gemini), Amazon and Walmart tools, YouTube tools, andget_scrapingbee_usage(limited to 6 calls per minute).
3. Which clients are named
- Apify: Claude Desktop and VS Code extensions with MCP support are named; any client implementing the MCP specification should work. The page also points to a plugin for coding agents such as Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Codex.
- Firecrawl: ChatGPT and Codex, Claude (including Claude Desktop and Claude Code), GitHub Copilot CLI and VS Code.
- Bright Data (README): Claude Desktop, Claude Code, Cursor, VS Code, Windsurf, Gemini CLI, Zed and Warp, plus any client that supports local MCP servers.
- ScrapingBee: Claude Desktop and Cursor via
npx mcp-remote, ChatGPT through a custom app (plan limits apply), and any client that supports MCP over streamable HTTP. - ScraperAPI: supported clients are not stated on the page we read.
4. Things to check before you connect
- Where the key lives. ScrapingBee's page notes that the API key sits in the URL, so keep that config out of source control and rotate the key if it leaks. Bright Data's remote URL, as written in its README, also carries a token in the query string. Apify's default flow uses OAuth so the token stays out of the client config.
- How many tools your client loads. A long tool list takes context. Bright Data documents group and tool filters for this reason.
- Which meter runs. Apify bills platform usage, Firecrawl bills credits, Bright Data counts requests, ScrapingBee charges the same credits as the matching API call. Our free-tier comparison has the numbers side by side.
- Concurrency and rate limits. ScrapingBee's hosted server has a shared global concurrency limit and may return HTTP 429; Apify states 30 requests per second per user.
5. A neutral way to choose
- You want to try an MCP server without creating an account: Firecrawl documents a keyless mode with daily limits, and Apify's docs and Actor-search tools work without a token.
- You want the most documented tool surface and filters: Bright Data lists 30 tools in named groups.
- You want a specific site or marketplace data: ScrapingBee lists Amazon, Walmart and YouTube tools; Apify's Actor catalog is its equivalent.
- You already use an HTTP scraping API and want the same engine in your agent: ScraperAPI † and ScrapingBee both document MCP servers on top of their APIs.
Still comparing platforms rather than servers? Read Make vs Apify and Free Tiers of Web-Data Tools Compared. For the scraping APIs behind some of these servers, see ScraperAPI vs ScrapingBee: What One Credit Actually Buys.
6. What we could not confirm
- ScraperAPI MCP: tool names, supported clients, authentication and credit usage.
- Bright Data: the product page and the docs overview did not state the endpoint, tool count or authentication; those details come from the project README.
- Firecrawl: credit cost per MCP tool (only Alexandria discovery is stated as free) and the numeric keyless daily limits.
- Real-world reliability, latency and result quality of any of these servers; we have not measured them.